My Continuing Adventure…

I have never written a blog before, but so much has gone on in a short period of time. I guess it is my way of keeping track of me.

In the beginning of 2007, I made the decision to leave San Francisco for Miami. I had been happy in San Francisco Ballet but looked forward to a new challenge and new opportunities. I thought that I might always wonder “what if” if I did not make the move, so in June I relocated to Miami Beach and joined Miami City Ballet.

Around the time of my move, I danced in NYC with Ashley Bouder at the Youth American Grand Prix Gala. We danced Stars and Stripes. I love dancing that piece. It is very special for me since it was the last piece that Melissa Hayden coached me in before I left the school. It was choreographed for her by Balanchine during her career with New York City Ballet. A little later on I danced in Cincinnati, Ohio at the International Stars of Ballet Gala with Ana Sophia Scheller. Ana and I also danced in September at North Carolina School of the Arts, a tribute to Dean Susan McCullough. Ethan Stiefel was named Dean of the School of Dance at that time.

Ana and I danced Tarantella at both events; one of the highlights of dancing with Miami City Ballet was to work with and to personally be coach by Edward Villella in this piece. Since Tarantella was choreographed for him by Balanchine, nothing could have been more special. Mr. Villella is such a magnetic and gifted man with a powerful persona.

There were many great things about my time in Miami. I will never regret the decision to move there. Each experience gives something good to take with you; however, by November I knew that we were not a good fit.

I had always waited for the perfect time to apply to American Ballet Theater. With the realization that I wanted to leave Miami, I decide no time like the present. After a trip to NYC I was given the opportunity to join ABT.

During December I danced in three different Nutcrackers in New Orleans, Spartanburg SC, and Los Angeles. I was also honored and flattered to receive LES ÉTOILES DE BALLET2000 award in Cannes, France.

January 7, 2008, I start with ABT. This is a dream come true for me and the chance of a lifetime… So my biggest adventure yet continues.

Joseph

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Archives

  • Login